Built True to Plumb

Well, just like everyone else, I have my resolutions. I’ll get to that in a second.

A few nights ago at the get-together at the church, Derrick talked about how we make resolutions that better ourselves. Whether it be diets, giving up old habits, or whatever else, we do what we do to better ourselves. But what if we made resolutions that glorified God above self? There’s your challenge.

Well, like most of America, I’ve set the weight loss challenge for myself. I sat down the other day and mapped out my entire schedule hour by hour. Basically, if I don’t want to drown this semester, I HAVE to follow that schedule so I can get everything accomplished that needs to be. I want to absolutely annihilate everything this semester. That means getting back in my exercise routine. My goal? Lose five pounds a month. That’s a little more than a pound a week on average. Once I cut out the silent killers – like soda and eating fast food when I’m off campus and in a hurry – things should hopefully get off on the right foot. That’s my self-glorifier, if you will. Now on to more important things..

New Year’s resolution for God: Build my wall true to plumb.

“This is what he showed me: The Lord was standing by a wall that had been built true to plumb, with a plumb line in his hand. And the LORD asked me, “What do you see, Amos?”
“A plumb line,” I replied.
Then the Lord said, “Look, I am setting a plumb line among my people Israel; I will spare them no longer.”
-Amos 7:7-8-

For those of you who don’t know what a plumb line is, it’s that piece of (typically) brightly colored string that’s laid down before a wall is built, and it is used as a guideline so the wall is built perfect and straight. For those of you who keep up on my blog, you’ll remember the two or three posts I’ve made about how Dave referenced me being a cornerstone and having to be built true to plumb in order for others to line up. This is what I’m talking about. I understand that I will fall. But just as I’ve scheduled in practice time, exercise time, study time, and everything else, I’ve scheduled in my time with God, and above all else, it WILL be kept. The next step is to devise a battle plan for when I start to build my wall away from the plumb line. This I have not done, but will before heading back to school. People, please. Remember. The time is now. God is coming, and will come like a “thief in the night (1 Thessalonians 5:1-3).”

If we as Christians aren’t building our lives true to plumb as God has said, then our walls will crumble and fall. Lay every block, every stone, true to plumb. We as Christians are cornerstones. Not just individual people. We’re cornerstones in a world that needs to be realigned. If you aren’t straight, the other blocks won’t be either. The wall will not stand. Regardless of whether by nature you’re a leader or not, God said go. Get out in a world full of sin and be a light. Be true to plumb as well.

Pray on.

Leave a Reply

Victoria Donner

Sometimes you can cattle rope your heart and sometimes you can't.

A JOURNEY OF FAITH

What God is teaching me in my personal journey of faith in Him

On the Shoulders of Giants

A lens on the world: faith, liberty, and economics

The Conformity Journey

On the road to Christlikeness.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

[ausmé] fragrance of knowledge

walking through life and changing in the process

The Ole Perfesser

Just wonderin'...

