Hannah (in) Montana!

For those of you who don’t know, I’ll be living in Montana this summer! It’s official!

Towards the end of February I applied with ACMNP – A Christian Ministry in the National Parks – at Glacier National Park in Montana. Well praise the Lord & pass the taters, I was accepted!

What I will be doing:

Tuesday through Saturday I will be working full-time at a gift shop. Doesn’t sound like ministry, but hold on. Before & after work, I will be apart of a team that is in charge of putting together and leading Bible studies, looking into the lives of the guests and other staff members in the park, and our number one job is to put together and lead worship services in the natural amphitheaters and lodges in the park. I am SO excited!!! This is a dream job for me. Not only does it give me GREAT exposure to what my major is (church music and Christian worship), but I’ll be in the MOUNTAINS doing this! =D YES!

I have a few prayer requests for you to keep in mind as I prepare for this summer.

First and foremost, pray that God would begin preparing the hearts of the others on my team and myself, as well as (and probably moreso), those visiting the park who do not yet know Jesus Christ. Pray that we would be a light in the darkness, and example to other employees not working with ACMNP, and diligent and hardworking.

Energy. That sounds a little odd, but here’s why. May 16 through May 25 I will be in Italy. I START my job June 1, which means I need to be there, at the absolute latest, May 30-31. It takes roughly three days worth of driving (12 hours per day) to get there. I believe Italy is 6 hours ahead of Indiana time, and Montana is two hours behind Indiana. My internal clock is going to HATE me for a while. =P

Safety. Montana…….. bears………

Daily renewal of attitude. This is going to be a growing experience for me. I’m going to have to live up to a much higher expectation than the regular seasonal employees. This is something I clearly expected and was reminded of when applying. Sometimes it’s easy for me to become frustrated, and this is the perfect opportunity to continue to work on this.

My family. Mom has already told me that it will be strange not having me around this summer. She’s right.. it’s going to be strange for both my parents and myself. Being away from Sterling is going to be a growing experience for me. I’ve sensed for quite a while that God has been telling me it’s time to move on. Not in a “forget these people and go” kind of way, but in the, “It’s time for you to grow up, move on, and start working with other people” sort of way. I talked with Amber about this one night right after second semester started, and I told her I felt like God was trying to tell me something in regards to Sterling. At the time it seemed like I wasn’t… wanted? at Sterling anymore. Of course that isn’t true. Sterling is where my foundation was laid. If it weren’t for the people at SCC, I’d hate to think where I would be today. I’m sorry.. that’s wrong.. if it weren’t for God working THROUGH those people, I don’t know where I’d be today. From young ones like Trenady Vincent to people like Ed Hetrick, I now realize how incredibly, incredibly blessed I am to call each of them friends. I know I left some sort of impact on at least one or two people and now it’s time for me to go impact others and allow others to impact me. So I guess when I say pray for my family, I mean my family at home and my family at SCC. With so many new opportunities coming to fruition, SCC is going to have an impact on a WHOLE lot more people. I’m so excited to see how God uses that particular church in building up the overall church. Praise Him!

I suppose that wraps it up for now. I’ll be blogging much more this summer than last summer, so hang with me! I know I haven’t gotten anything on here in a few months, and it shocks me that I’m still getting dozens of hits a day. Hopefully I’ll get an update on this semester posted sometime soon.

As always, pray on dear ones. Make Satan shudder.

Hannah (in) Montana. =)

Leave a Reply

Victoria Donner

Sometimes you can cattle rope your heart and sometimes you can't.

A JOURNEY OF FAITH

What God is teaching me in my personal journey of faith in Him

On the Shoulders of Giants

A lens on the world: faith, liberty, and economics

The Conformity Journey

On the road to Christlikeness.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

[ausmé] fragrance of knowledge

walking through life and changing in the process

The Ole Perfesser

Just wonderin'...

