Just Another Day in Paradise!

Let me start off by saying that I will never cease to be amazed with this place. There is beauty here that is incomparable with every other place on planet earth.

On Monday, Amy, Brandon, Brandon’s sister Shalan and I all headed for Going to the Sun Road with Many Glacier as our destination. It’s about an hour and a half away from West. This was the first time I’d ever seen Sun Road. WOW. I’m not even going to try to describe it to you. Jump on my Facebook and look at my Montana album if you want to see pictures, but let me remind you that no picture in this world will ever do this place justice. My jaw almost came unhinged. No… seriously. While we were driving three big horned sheep trotted right past our car. Awesome! We picked Shalan up and headed for the horses at Many. We did a two-hour horseback ride through a beautiful valley: one I will DEFINITELY be returning to. We were on a ridge and looking down on a lake, and what do we see? A BULL MOOSE!!!!!!! =D That’s what I came here to see! =D He was pretty far away, but oh Mylanta.. I’ve never seen anything so huge in my life. Seriously guys, they’re GIGANTIC!!! I’m guessing that my head MIGHT have come up to the lower part of his stomach. There was no doubt that this dude was full grown. He was glorious.

We had a really cool wrangler leading us. I was practically right behind him, so we had quite a bit of conversation. Actually, we got to talkin’ about church, God, the b-i-b-l-e and things like that. He was rough around the edges, that’s for sure, but I love talking to people who, when you really listen to them, you can tell they want something deeper. Not just when they talk about God or any of that, but when you hear them talk about past relationships, what they like, what they dislike, how they have grown through past experiences… So much of it points directly to our creator. Even the bad experiences. Look in people’s eyes and you can see it: they know there has to be something bigger and better than what they’ve gone through and are currently wrestling through. McKenna (the wrangler … yes, it was a guy) definitely had that. There are some days that I want nothing more than to solve every problem that humanity deals with, but then I remember my name doesn’t start with a G and end with an od. I’ve never made “world peace” or solving every problem of humanity one of my goals. My goal is to show those whom I come in contact with that I’m just like them. I have my struggles, bad days, good days, and everything in between. I want them to see a Jesus that doesn’t look over his glasses & down the bridge of his nose at them. I want them to see Jesus how I first saw him: Someone talking with me, listening to me clean out my closet of skeletons, and not react in a way that made me feel like a sinner or a terrible person. I already knew that. Instead, they pushed deeper, tried to get to the heart of the issue, and then went from there. Thinking back over my high school years, I don’t think I can count the number of hours I racked up talking with Dave, Tara, Chris, Dawn, Amber & Breanna. Those six people were CONSTANTLY love with skin on it. I just wish everyone could have as accurate of an image of Jesus as I have been able to have. Once you start seeing His love in other people, you start to understand how greater His love is. Maybe that doesn’t make sense… But when I heard that His love surpassed everything & everyone else’s display of love, it started to sink in that this man that lived 2,000 years ago was everything I’d been looking for. What makes this summer so memorable is, yes, of course the location, but also how much I continue to see God in what’s around me, and also in the people around me. I can’t wait to hike Mt. Brown. Most of the guides say it’s the most difficult hike in the park. You gain roughly 4,500 feet in under four miles. When Moses “went up on the mountain” to be with God, I’m guessing he HAD to have stopped and thought, “Wow.” When he looked around at everything God had painted around him. The cool thing is, when God laid all of it out, I’ll bet he thought, “I can’t wait for Moses to see this when he comes up to spend time with me.” Maybe he said that same thing about Mt. Brown for me. I’d go to bet that he also chuckled and thought, “She’s gonna spit out every word in the book for this whole elevation thing..” If that IS his thought, he’s probably correct. =P If Blake & Cole wanted to die when THEY did it, my assumption is I’m going to take it one step further & throw myself off one of the cliffs. I think I’m going to save it for my last day off of the summer. Ugh. Last day. I don’t even wanna think about that.. =/ I’m falling in love with this place more and more every day. I could easily live here for the rest of my life. If the U of M had a church music major, I’d be heavily considering a transfer. There’s something about it here. Yes, the beauty has a lot to do with it, but it draws you in. It grabs you and it doesn’t let go. I’m already trying to figure out if it’s a good idea or not to come back next year.

Actually, the wrangler I told you about told me I should heavily consider coming back next year to work as a wrangler. They judge by the way you load up on a horse and by how comfortable you are with the horses whether or not you’d be a good one to hire on, and he said I should definitely consider it. The funny thing is I haven’t ridden a horse in ten years. I do love ‘em though. I begged Dad to get one when we built the new house. We really do have a great front yard for it. We could have put a fence up & all that jazz. But, alas, he said no. When I called him today to talk, he actually sounded a little excited about the idea. I’m DEFINITELY excited about it. I’d do it in a heartbeat. I really love being around them. Some of them are so intelligent. Others… not so blessed, I suppose. =P

I feel like I’ve more or less done nothing but ramble.. Therefore… um.. bye. :)

Pray on!

One thought on “Just Another Day in Paradise!

  1. Willie Mac says:

    Hmmm…don’t doubt that Montana is beautiful, but can it rival the Cayman Islands? It has to be the closest thing to Eden we have left. ;)

Leave a Reply

Victoria Donner

Sometimes you can cattle rope your heart and sometimes you can't.

A JOURNEY OF FAITH

What God is teaching me in my personal journey of faith in Him

On the Shoulders of Giants

A lens on the world: faith, liberty, and economics

The Conformity Journey

On the road to Christlikeness.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

[ausmé] fragrance of knowledge

walking through life and changing in the process

The Ole Perfesser

Just wonderin'...

