“Don’t Look Back!”

Life just has a crazy way of smacking me over the back of the head sometimes. =P

Think back to the post I recently made about how I’m moving from the old life to the new life. Tonight I read through the story of Sodom and Gomorrah, and I caught something I’d never caught before…

“Don’t look back, and don’t stop anywhere in the plain!” –Genesis 19:17

I’ve read that verse multiple times. “Don’t look back,” is typically what we catch. But what about, “Don’t stop anywhere in the plain?”

I have a tendency to say, “Okay, I’m not looking back. I’m done, I’m done, I’m done.” Sure, I might say that, and I may not turn around (or at least not turn around completely…), but I have tendency to run and then stop “in the plain.” I think that’s equivalent to thinking about the past life and reconsidering the decision to leave my Sodom and Gomorrah. “Somewhere in the middle you’ll find me…” (Casting Crowns). I do this a lot with the relationship(s) I’m trying to let go of. I might say, “Okay, this is done. I’m going to bolt away from it.” And I do! But… I guess that being out of shape spiritually causes me to stop and catch my breath from running away. Stopping leads to thinking. Thinking leads to turning. Turning turns me to salt. =P As entertaining as that thought is, it’s bad. If you would have talked to me two months ago, there was no way in the world I was ever going to let go of certain relationships. Maybe not let go of.. What I mean is refuse to not see the relationship/friendship the way I had planned. Maybe that means letting go of it entirely. Being 2,000 miles away really helps that. I just want to be healed. I want to be restored. I don’t want to be held down by the shackles and chains of addiction anymore. I don’t want to stop anywhere in the plain. Get me outta Gomorrah! God wants to overthrow my old life AND my tendency of wanting to stop in the plain and think. I can’t allow him to destroy only the city – he has to destroy the entire surrounding area, and that includes the intellectual area.

I know burning sulfur is clearly much more destructive than just fire, but I still wonder about something. In forests, sometimes controlled fires will be started in order to kill off the old and to allow the new to spring forth within a season or two. Sodom and Gomorrah were destroyed by fire…did God allow the area to grow over with new life afterwards? Clearly the sulfur had to have symbolized how utterly disgusting S & G’s sin was to God…but what was it like there the next year? Anyway. Random. Sorry.

I guess I should go to bed before it gets any worse. =P Life is good. Montana is wonderful. And I’m…..tired. -heavy sigh-

Pray on, friends.

Leave a Reply

Victoria Donner

Sometimes you can cattle rope your heart and sometimes you can't.

A JOURNEY OF FAITH

What God is teaching me in my personal journey of faith in Him

On the Shoulders of Giants

A lens on the world: faith, liberty, and economics

The Conformity Journey

On the road to Christlikeness.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

[ausmé] fragrance of knowledge

walking through life and changing in the process

The Ole Perfesser

Just wonderin'...

