Pro-Life or Pro-Birth?

I’m currently reading Why Pro-Life? Caring for the Unborn and Their Mothers by Randy Alcorn. It’s a book written in defense of the pro-life opinion. Alcorn is a Christian, but this book is not written on an argument of faith, but of scientific research and discovery. I highly recommend this to anyone, be you pro-life or pro-choice. I’m not very far into the book, but far enough that I’ve come to realize our Christian, pro-life stance on the issue is hollow. Yes, hollow.

I argue that most of us Christians fight for pro-birth, but we aren’t really pro-life. No, I’m not arguing this from an anti-death penalty view because I’m for the death penalty (we’ll tackle that argument some other time). I’m arguing this from our nice little conservative boxes that we confine ourselves to.

How many of us vehemently stand on the side of pro-life, yet when that baby is born, the argument then ceases? We won, didn’t we? The mom didn’t have an abortion! Let’s go find the next teenage girl who’s walking towards Planned Parenthood. But what about the teenage mom who just had the child? If we’re supposedly pro-life, won’t we continue to fight for the good of that mother and child? Or, instead, do we revert to our conservative views of, “Well honey, havin’ a kid is rough work. Get a job and start supporting that kid. The world doesn’t owe you anything.”

Tell me I’m wrong and that you’ve never had this thought run through your mind when you hear of a pregnant teenager. Tell me I’m wrong. I dare you.

I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve thought this. I had friends in high school who became pregnant and I remember thinking, “Wow. They’re idiots. Seriously? Can’t you just wait to sleep with someone until marriage? Oh well.. it’s their problem, but she better not have an abortion. That’s just plain wrong.”

Allow me to point out the controversy in my thought process.

“It’s their problem, but she better not have an abortion.”
I turned the child into an inconvenience. I could argue (with myself no less, ha!) that I intended for the situation of becoming a teenage mom to be a problem. That does not excuse the fact that I could be heavily misinterpreted, and furthermore, come across as a very, very hypocritical Christian. Unplanned children are not “problems.” They’re unexpected, that’s for sure. And perhaps they’re fabulous instruments of fear (ha!), but they are not problems.
I continued my ignorance and immaturity through the thought of “…but she better not have an abortion.” This is controversial to my first statement. If the child really were a problem, why not abort it? Secularly, chances are we believe in evolution. If the child is a problem, then we should seek to eliminate said problem. Survival of the fittest, after all (nevermind the numerous loopholes that can be found in this theory). Religiously we seek to surrender power to Christ when we find problems. They aren’t ours to conquer. Christians shouldn’t be having abortions, yet, “43% of  women obtaining abortions identify themselves as Protestant, and 27% identify themselves as Catholic. Two-thirds of America’s abortions are obtained by those with a Christian affiliation. Eighteen percent of all U.S. abortions are performed on women who identify themselves as born-again or evangelical Christians. That’s nearly a quarter million abortions each year in Bible-believing churches (Alcorn 17).” For those of us who aren’t in this boat, think about your first reaction to the statistics I just listed. Horror? Shock? Disgust?

I return to my original statement. We fight for birth, not life. If we fought for life, our first reactions would be that of heartbreak, not only for the unborn, but for the mothers who sat through our church services, yet were never encompassed with the love of Christ that should have influenced their decisions. Instead of turning to the church for help and aid, what caused these mothers to feel so rejected that they would hide away from our churches once they become pregnant? Do we really come across as a place and a people so judgmental that she can’t come to Jesus, even if she does have an abortion?

Church, we have to stop being pro-birth and start being pro-life. Stand in the line of fire for those who are already nearly-mortally wounded by society or, God forbid, the church. If we fight for birth but not life, we defeat the purpose. A poverty-stricken child isn’t given a chance at life. We can’t keep turning our eyes from this issue (Not poverty, but our insensitivity to the mothers and children post-birth, just because they don’t look, act, talk, or think like us). I’ll be the first one to admit that I need to change. Over the past few weeks I’ve noticed my insensitivity and pride have sky-rocketed. Faaantastic. I never realized how great is the analogy of the church being a body. Cancer can start small, but it has the potential to destroy in a very minute measurement of time. All it takes is one member who is prideful and/or insensitive and the cancer will go from Stage I to Stage IV in no time.

I know we (as an entire Body) have the ability to do this. With the grace of Christ, we can run to those who are hurting and wrap our arms around them. I think we just need a perspective shift. Pro-life. Not pro-birth.

Pray on, friends.

 

*Edit on 9/6/12
There is NOTHING in this post that is seeking to speak against the death penalty. Please see my other post, https://lifeaccordingtohannah.wordpress.com/2011/07/23/the-long-awaited-opinion/  for clarification on my views of the death penalty.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Victoria Donner

Sometimes you can cattle rope your heart and sometimes you can't.

A JOURNEY OF FAITH

What God is teaching me in my personal journey of faith in Him

On the Shoulders of Giants

A lens on the world: faith, liberty, and economics

The Conformity Journey

On the road to Christlikeness.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

[ausmé] fragrance of knowledge

walking through life and changing in the process

The Ole Perfesser

Just wonderin'...

