James 1:22

It’s hard to believe that today was the one-year mark of Ed passing away. It seems like he’s been gone a lot longer than a year, but at the same time it feels like it just happened yesterday. I don’t know what it is, but for some reason I think my mind refuses to accept the fact that he’s really gone. I still have his number in my cell phone, still have him on my Facebook (I’m aware I’m not on FB anymore – just saying). This semester I’ve realized that many of the people who have had a significant impact on my life have been older. Not all, but a vast majority. Many/Most of them are now to the point where they won’t be here much longer because they’ve gotten so much older. This makes life a touch more difficult than I prefer.

The biggest lesson I think I gleaned from knowing Ed is it’s okay to annoy the living daylights outta people. :) He did so in an awesome way. I cannot tell you how many times that man would call me in a week. I hate to admit this, but it got to the point where I just started hitting reject because I had things I had to get done! I didn’t have time to sit around on the phone all day! I hit reject twice the week he died. I don’t hit reject anymore. Ed just wanted to make sure I was doing okay, that things were going well, and he wanted to harass me and ask if I’d found Mr. Hannah yet. :) I never thought I’d actually miss that, but I do.

Ed didn’t wait for things to get done. If something needed done, he’d jump all over it. You wouldn’t believe how much a 60-something year old man could accomplish in a day. It was pretty cool to see how Ed changed over the years while I was in youth group. He went from being completely unsure of someone who looked gothic, to someone who willingly and happily reached out to anyone and everyone around him, especially those who DID look and act different from him. God softened his heart through Jake, and he was never the same. I will never forget the Grundy trip where Ed made a 180 in what he believed about my generation. :) I’m sure he’s managed to terrorize all of heaven by now. :)

James 1:22 – Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.
Ed’s life verse. It speaks volumes. It doesn’t really need explanation or further words to embellish it. It’s pretty simple. When I look at my own life I’m a little perturbed at how I so often just read the words and then forget the action. Lately I’ve been very convicted of my need to be more generous, especially monetarily. I’ve really struggled with tithing this year. When I look back over a few habits I’ve developed, it’s clear that I’ve been walking through the wider gate instead of the narrower gate. I’m starting to look and act too much like the world regarding certain issues. I think the heart of it lies in the fact that I’ve been slacking on my tithing habits. Unacceptable. Absolutely unacceptable. My church back home is starting the building process and I’m slowing down the process by being unfaithful with my finances. Cripes. “Do what it says..”

It’s officially out – Dr. Yoder won’t be back next year. =/ Cripes. I’m super thrilled for this job he has in NYC. The man’s church is right across the street from Carnegie Hall! I mean come on! It doesn’t get any sweeter than that! He’s back at the church he interned at 40 years ago. His ministry has come full-circle, which is awesome. I just hate that he won’t be here anymore. Quite frankly, Yoder’s way too good for IWU. Seriously. He doesn’t belong in some rural Indiana college. The man’s too talented/gifted/smart to be here. He NEEDS to be somewhere like NYC working with the big rigs. Given his abilities, I don’t think IWU has treated him well enough. That’s just my own personal opinion. The man’s an absolute genius at what he does, so what the heck is he doin’ here?

Today’s been a bummer of a day, that’s for sure. It’s not one of those days that has left me hating the world, but it’s just been a crummy day I suppose. At least tomorrow’s Friday. :)

One thought on “James 1:22

  1. Steve says:

    I miss his calls too!

Leave a Reply

Victoria Donner

Sometimes you can cattle rope your heart and sometimes you can't.

A JOURNEY OF FAITH

What God is teaching me in my personal journey of faith in Him

On the Shoulders of Giants

A lens on the world: faith, liberty, and economics

The Conformity Journey

On the road to Christlikeness.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

[ausmé] fragrance of knowledge

walking through life and changing in the process

The Ole Perfesser

Just wonderin'...

