Gay marriage. Christianity. Choices. Opinions. Oh boy, here we go.

*I originally posted this as a note on Facebook, but I decided to post it here as well.*

Well, since I find the need for the world to know my opinion on everything, why should I withhold it in regards to Obama’s recent support of gay marriage?

My two cents: I in no way, shape, or form support gay marriage. At all. HOWEVER. I also can’t bring myself to saying it’s the government’s job to say who can and cannot marry. Does that make the decision okay? No. Regardless of whether or not the government allows for gay marriage, those who are gay are still going to be together. Government isn’t going to prevent that. Some of you are probably fairly shocked by me saying this, but I have a really big reason. If we allow the government to decide on certain issues like this, then we’ll allow them to make decisions on other issues that they shouldn’t touch. I don’t support gay marriage at all because it isn’t biblical nor does it fit with the “other” point of view: evolution (survival of the fittest – you can’t procreate if you’re having sex with your own gender).

As a Christian, it isn’t my job to define someone else’s morals for them. It isn’t my responsibility to make someone else’s decisions. It’s my job to pick my Bible up off my night stand, read it, and apply it to my own life. As a Christian, I do not yell and scream at people that they’re going to go to hell if they don’t repent, but I do warn that there are consequences (both good and bad) for every single decision we as humans could ever make. Hell is one of them (this isn’t a homosexuals-are-going-to-hell comment. This is a those-who-reject-Christ-are-going-to-hell comment). If my life isn’t urgently expressing that, then I’m doing something wrong (I’ll be the first to admit that recently, my life has done everything EXCEPT urgently express that). Jesus himself never forced anyone to follow him. He gave them a decision. The rich young ruler said he’d kept all the commands since he was a boy. Jesus commended him, but also told him to sell everything and follow him. He couldn’t do that. Jesus didn’t force him. Jesus didn’t yell at him. He gave him a decision.

If the world wants to waltz right up to the gates of hell, then it will. Someone else’s salvation is *NOT*, I repeat, *NOT* my responsibility. I can save no one. That’s Christ’s line of business. My responsibility is to tell the world about him, what he’s done for my life, and give them a glimpse into how incredible the gift of salvation is. I’m following what Paul said: I must be all things to all people in order that I might save some. That means being willing to associate with anyone & everyone – including those who make decisions I don’t agree with. If people want to reject grace, love, and acceptance from the One who gives it wholly and freely just because it’s who He is (which is the exact opposite of the human nature), then that’s between them & Him. Christ will look at me one day and ask, “Why didn’t you tell them?” That’s on my head. But it is not, “Why didn’t you save them?”

So where does that land us as Christians? Do we slander President Obama’s name because he doesn’t see eye-to-eye with our Christian views? If so, we do nothing to help the problem. Do we follow in the footsteps of the Westboro cult and hold picket signs reading, “GOD HATES FAGS!”? No. Clearly, no. (Also, please note the careful wording of cult and not Westboro Baptist Church – that’s not a church, but we can talk about that later). So what do we do about this problem in the world? My solution: I think we need to each take the planks out of our own eyes, examine our own lives and where we aren’t measuring up, and once we’ve done that, THEN maybe we can start working to change the world.

But perhaps changing the world actually means just changing ourselves. You don’t change the world by waking up the same person every day. Changing the world around you means changing yourself first, and continually doing that. I think changing the world is actually just a byproduct of personal growth, but that’s just my opinion.

I’m sure there are at least a dozen people (Christians?) who will disagree with me for every one person there is that agrees with me on the above statements. That’s fine. If you think that my choice to not necessarily speak against legalizing gay marriage (again, I do NOT support it) is wrong and that I should be, as a Christian, vehemently protesting it, well, okay. I’m going to continue revamping my views and opinions and challenging them against Scripture. I only ask that you do the same.

Keep on keepin’ on.
-Hannah

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Gay marriage. Christianity. Choices. Opinions. Oh boy, here we go.

  1. Em K says:

    Love you! And I love your ability to speak your opinion without fearing what others may say… I too feel your opinions are correct however, not ballsy enough to post it…. kudos to you dear Hannah!
    Em K

  2. Normally I don’t learn article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do it! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice article.

Leave a Reply

Victoria Donner

Sometimes you can cattle rope your heart and sometimes you can't.

A JOURNEY OF FAITH

What God is teaching me in my personal journey of faith in Him

On the Shoulders of Giants

A lens on the world: faith, liberty, and economics

The Conformity Journey

On the road to Christlikeness.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

[ausmé] fragrance of knowledge

walking through life and changing in the process

The Ole Perfesser

Just wonderin'...

