The ‘L’ Word: The world will hate you for it.

“If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. Remember the words I spoke to you: ‘No servant is greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also.” -John 15:18-20

 

Warning: If you have sensitive feelings, you might want to click that X up in the corner right now.

I’ve had it up to my nose with this crap about loving people in a sense that we are to accept all behaviors. If you’re a Christian and there isn’t a single person in this world who hates you because you have a biblical worldview, then perhaps you aren’t defending the Gospel and the teachings of Jesus to the degree which he seems to expect. The verses I just quoted seem to be pretty darn explicit with how this whole following Jesus thing works. Sometimes you’re going to look like a jerk because you have chosen to accept, defend, respect and honor a Scriptural worldview. If you don’t agree with Scripture and you don’t like the teachings, then stop calling yourself a committed follower of Christ (that was NOT a passive aggressive comment to any single person. I believe this about Christianity in general). You’re going to have to look like a jerk at some point because you have to take a stand for one side or the other. Being a “martyr” for the sake of others’ feelings is nothing but cowardice and lukewarm faith.

I’m going to provide a little push-back on my own view. I’m wrestling with a lot of what I’ve already talked about/will talk about in the rest of this blog. I’m not trying to prove my own opinion as the correct opinion. I’m simply goin’ with Scripture here, folks, and I’m working it out as I go. Anyway.. Push-back..

“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” -John 13:34

We turn to this passage a LOT in Christianity, as we definitely should. What we should not turn to, however, is a worldly definition of love. Does this agape love mean that we accept any and all opinions, belief systems, or even personal definitions of love? I can’t say yes to that in good conscience. Brotherly Christian love does not allow unbiblical, worldly things to stand in the way of their brother’s life. Loving one another does NOT mean accepting any and all behaviors. It doesn’t mean never offending people. When people have gotten in my face over something in my life that needed corrected, was I offended?! Yeah! Who enjoys being told their lifestyle is wrong?! Would it have been loving to let it go by the wayside and for them to have never said anything? Actually, that would have been the exact opposite of love: fear. Fear that they would offend me. Fear that perhaps I would push back on what they were saying. Fear that they’d choose the wrong words. But allow me to quote a lengthy, but amazing passage from Scripture (I would normally just reference it, but I want to make sure you read this). From 1 John 4:7-21…

“Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. God lives in us and his love is made complete in us.
We know that we live in him and he in us, because he has given us of his Spirit. And we have seen and testify that the Father has sent his Son to be the Savior of the world. If anyone acknowledges that Jesus is the Son of God, God lives in him and he in God. And so we know and rely on the love God has for us.
God is love. Whoever lives in love lives in God, and God in him. In this way, love is made complete among us so that we will have confidence on the day of judgment, because in this world we are like him. There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment. The one who fears is not made perfect in love. 
We love because he first loved us. If anyone says, “I love God,” yet hates his brother, he is a liar. For anyone who does not love his brother, whom he has seen, cannot love God, whom he has not seen. And he has given us this command: Whoever loves God must also love his brother.”

You cannot have fear in love. You cannot love God if you hate your brother. I’m led to believe it’s difficult to love your brother if you fear loving him. So, how do we know what love is?

“This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.” -1 John 3:16

Love means laying down one’s life. Commitment. Sacrifice. Servanthood. Love does not mean accepting what any definition or personal opinion has to offer. I’m sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but it does not mean embracing alternative lifestyles as acceptable. It doesn’t mean sitting on the sidelines and never getting involved in defending the Gospel. It doesn’t mean you get to go to church on Sunday morning and be let off the hook. It doesn’t mean you get to justify your bad behavior with excuses. It doesn’t mean you get to say yes to Jesus and no to his teachings! If we are to love Christ above all else, then that means EVERYTHING better be submitted to Christ: our views, our opinions, our definitions, our lifestyles, etc. It means that because Christ laid down his life for us, we do the same for him. We put it all on the line. We lay our reputations on the line. We lay EVERYTHING on the line. Why? Because that’s love, guys! That’s love! Being willing to totally die to self and live through Christ!

A love that accepts anything and everything isn’t supported in Scripture. It just isn’t. If you have a problem with this, then go take it up with God. The media wants you to accept everything. Political correctness wants you to accept everything. Tolerance wants you to embrace and accept everything (unless it’s Christianity – because those nutjobs are intolerant, so we’re going to say that we need to be tolerant of everyone but the intolerant, therefore shooting our own logic in the foot. Real tolerance would tolerate the intolerant, but that must be beside the point). Nowhere, NOT ONE PLACE to do I read that Jesus accepted sinful behavior with open arms. How many times do we read about him saying, “Go and sin no more,” or, “Go, leave your life of sin.” How many times?! Quite frankly, Jesus ticked a lotta people off! He died to make the unrighteous righteous, therefore constantly pissing the Pharisees off because they thought they had their acts together and deserved first place. If he died to renew the sinner’s life, then we spit in his face if we choose to continue our lives without allowing Scripture to critique and correct our lives. We deny love if we elevate others’ feelings to being above Truth. Many walked away from Jesus because they couldn’t accept the Truth he brought. John 6: Jesus says that unless you’re willing to eat his flesh and drink his blood, it’s a no-go (verses 53-58). But what happens after that?

“On hearing it, many of his disciples said, “This is a hard teaching. Who can accept it?”
Aware that his disciples were grumbling about this, Jesus said to them, “Does this offend you? What if you see the Son of Man ascend to where he was before! The Spirit gives life; the flesh counts for nothing. The words I have spoken to you are spirit and they are life. Yet there are some of you who do not believe.” For Jesus had known from the beginning which of them did not believe and who would betray him. He went on to say, “This is why I told you that no one can come to me unless the Father has enabled him.”
  From this time many of his disciples turned back and no longer followed him.
  ‘You do not want to leave too, do you?’ Jesus asked the Twelve.
Simon Peter answered him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the worlds of eternal life. We believe and know that you are the Holy One of God. ” -John 6:60-69 (emphases mine)

Let’s make something crystal clear: Jesus let the people walk away. He gave them a choice as he did/has from the dawn of time. Love is a choice. Love is an action. Why did Jesus let MANY of his disciples walk away? Because crapped out, half-hearted, half-interested, half-committed, lukewarm, do-it-when-it’s-convenient, do-it-on-my-time, Sunday morning faith is NOT what this guy is after! Having a handful of people willing to go the distance is of far more value than having droves of fans who show up for a concert and then leave. Christians, we need to nut up or shut up. Jesus didn’t have a bleeding heart when they didn’t stay. Why? Because following him is hard and it takes being willing to be hated by all others as the price. While he absolutely wants everyone to walk the narrow road, he himself said few will walk it. Few find the gate so small. Following Christ is about surrendered perseverance. It’s defined by endurance. It isn’t like a microwave. It isn’t instant. It isn’t simple. It isn’t easy. Not because loving Jesus is hard, but because living in a world unfathomably complicated by sin is what is hard. We have confused the two. Obedience shouldn’t be viewed as something that takes strain and pain. Obedience to Christ should be easy, yet it’s complicated because we must battle fleshly sins at the same time. Following Jesus ain’t hard. Dying to yourself, however, is impossible without obedience and surrender.

I’m not saying go out and attempt to get people to hate you. I’m not saying that at all. What I am saying is that if you’ve had the opportunity to defend the Gospel and you’ve passed up on such an awesome opportunity, then maybe it’s time to put the cares about others’ opinions of you on the back burner and bring the urgency of the Gospel to the front. Every time we choose to not defend that which is Right, True, and Just when we know it’s needed is a laugh for Satan. It’s another victory for him. It’s another crack of the whip on the back of the Savior who died for us.

All that being said, allow me a moment of narcissism. Allow me to bring myself back into this picture.
There are few times, if any at all, that I’m unwilling to go toe-to-toe with someone who wants to slander and slash the Christian lifestyle, the Bible, etc. Not because I claim to have wisdom or knowledge about anything, but because I do think I am capable of removing the veil of culture and popular Christianity from over my own eyes. All that being said, my presentation of the Gospel isn’t one that’s always super attractive. I don’t sugarcoat a darned thing. I’d go as far as to say I might be confrontational (which is totally unrighteous and not cool if it’s prideful) in a bad way at times. I’ll step on the feelings of others because I just. don’t. care. It’s not that I don’t care about the person, but I just don’t care about hurting feelings because that seems to be ALL the rest of the world cares about. What I care about is a clear view of the Gospel. I care about Truth. I care about peoples’ salvation, not their happiness. I care about the Gospel being defended intelligently in a time that tries to skew it to fit personal lifestyles. I care about the Gospel being defended when those who know absolutely nothing about it try to act like they do. Reading the Bible really isn’t all that impressive. Anyone who is literate can do that. Applying the Bible, understanding the context, culture, language, and time period in history when it was written all need to be present when drawing conclusions about Scripture. That’s what gets my heart racing. Nothing will wake me up more than someone providing a pathetic definition of love, Christianity, faith, etc. I’m far more critical of those who claim to be followers of Christ than I ever will be of those who want nothing to do with him. Why? I don’t expect the dark to behave like the light. I do, however, expect the light to shine in the darkness. Christians, please. Understand that you do no good in choosing to never stand up for the Gospel. When you stand face to face with Jesus, is he going to ask you, “Why didn’t you tell them? Why did you stay quiet when you knew there was injustice, when you their behavior was wrong?” I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again: Saving people isn’t your job. Let Jesus do that. Telling them about him and defending Scripture is your job.

Love requires some sort of battle. The cross told us that much. I’ll leave you by asking this. What are you fighting for? Are you even fighting at all? Or maybe, are you even willing?

Pray. Seek. Do.
..Hannah

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The ‘L’ Word: The world will hate you for it.

  1. “Criticism is the cost of influence.” – Rick Warren

    and that’s putting it lightly

    But yeah, i think about John 15 a lot; it’s a shame how in previous centuries and currently in other countries the sacrifices people make to be associated with Christianity and we cry because we might get a nasty comment on facebook. King of sickening. I don’t expect non-christians to have christian beliefs as i dont expect christians to have non-christian beliefs; yet for the majority of the time we do. “i don’t agree” doesn’t mean “I hate you” and chances are if we speak our beliefs (Or what they should be) we won’t be put in prison or killed. How many people have died without ever having that opportunity? so many are without a backbone. it should never be our goal to pick a fight and go out for the mere intention of offending somebody, but the truth is sharper than any double edged sword and it hurts. cuts through everything in our life and reveals all of our shortcomings and flaws, and it should tick them off. i mean, who wants to hear that? We should love to take some heat for our faith, Our God took hell.

  2. Steve Latham says:

    WOW!
    Hannah, thanks for the insight. I think over time, the world has pushed Christians into the “turn the other cheek” culture… and yes, we’ve even allowed it. We have become more of a meek minded, passive group that has grown to accept nearly anything, as long as it doesn’t affect “me or my family”. I think more and more people are realizing there is a “Christ-like” way to push back and defend Christianity (like God really needs defending).

    By the way, I’d really enjoy seeing you read this to the congregation on Sunday, especially:

    “Why did Jesus let MANY of his disciples walk away? Because crapped out, half-hearted, half-interested, half-committed, lukewarm, do it when it’s convenient, do it on my time, Sunday morning faith is NOT what this guy is after!!!!! Having a handful of people willing to go the distance is of far more value than having droves of fans who show up for a concert and then leave. Christians, we need to nut up or shut up. ”

    … nuff said!

    Thanks for the challenge.
    Steve

  3. […] a very strong grip on my heart and mind from the first time I read it. I used it in my blog, “The L Word: The World Will Hate You For It,” but it absolutely smacked me in the face in a new way tonight. I’ll post a small […]

Leave a Reply

Victoria Donner

Sometimes you can cattle rope your heart and sometimes you can't.

A JOURNEY OF FAITH

What God is teaching me in my personal journey of faith in Him

On the Shoulders of Giants

A lens on the world: faith, liberty, and economics

The Conformity Journey

On the road to Christlikeness.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

[ausmé] fragrance of knowledge

walking through life and changing in the process

The Ole Perfesser

Just wonderin'...

